A few years ago, in the summer of 2009, I went on a road trip around New Zealand with one of my closest friends. New Zealand had, admittedly, never really been on our list of places we had to see – we were both still in the throes of Europe-love and not nearly as appreciative of our hemisphere as we should have been. But there was a special on the plane tickets and we wanted to do something, so late one night, we clicked book and locked ourselves into a Kiwi road trip.

We spent two weeks driving around both islands in two 80s-esque cars that were an utter pain to hire because New Zealand seems to operate to the beat of an even more laidback tempo than Australia is reputed to. It was one of those trips you never forget, the kind you tell your kids about, the kind that comes with a dose of sweet nostalgia whenever you think about it.

I was thinking about it the other day when I realised I had never put any photos from the trip on this here blog. And I decided to remedy that.