Let’s revel in it together.

A few days ago, I received a lovely email from the guys over at Überlin – a beautiful blog for those living in or in love with Berlin – asking if I wanted to collaborate with them a little. I said, count me in. Natürlich. ‘What I Know About Germans’ was selected as the post that would springboard ABL into the Überlin stratosphere and it was duly published two days ago with some beautiful photos.

And then it absolutely exploded.

From Überlin it began buzzing on Facebook (10,000 likes at this point in time … I mean what?) and Twitter. Social media ferried it onto Reddit. And then onto Tages-Anzeiger online, a Swiss national paper with one of the country’s largest readerships. Comments have come pouring in – most resoundingly positive and largely from very happy Germans (phew). I am getting absolutely lovely emails and tweets from perfect strangers (don’t stop, they make my day). One reader even made a response post – things you need to know about Australians (and he was bang on, we do drink as much tea as the British, even when it’s boiling outside and we do NOT drink Fosters beer). And the guys at Überlin and I are looking at the wonderful ruckus these 78 points have caused with complete bewilderment. There is noise being made for the list to reach 100 – watch this space, I may need your help with making this happen.

So this is it guys, this is as close to viral as I am ever going to get. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a bottle of reasonably priced, perfectly decent Sekt somewhere, waiting to be cracked open.