Moving abroad can be a tricky, wonderful, scary, difficult thing. When I packed a bag in July 2010 and hopped on a plane for an adventure of a more permanent sort, I had absolutely no idea what I was in for. I had, perhaps, a fraction of an idea of what I was in for. Living in Germany with a dear friend with Europe on my doorstep, hurrah! Yes! Jawohl! But all of the ins and outs – the insurance, the registering, the visa renewal and restrictions, the renting rules and regulations, the TEFL industry, I was blissfully ignorant of. And as for the sheer emotional roller coaster you merrily board and strap yourself into, well I had absolutely no idea about that either. Previous travels had had end-dates, return tickets, known time frames. This one was indefinite. This one was moving somewhere and staying there, not hopping from hotel to hostel. This one had a whole new emotional framework with which to acquaint myself. And just as I had, just as I was starting to feel a little restless once more, ready for something new,  I was shuttled into Weiden. And soon, things will change again – and I will write about in time – as life does what it does best and just cracks on and we do what we do best and go with it, seeing where it takes us and doing with that the best we can.

Writing has been the best therapy, writing and wine with new friends and old. I thought I would collate, and publish also as a page (see the top menu) the key pieces that came out of confusion, homesickness, frustration, fear but also the satisfaction and excitement that has been like no other.

Boil the kettle and let’s begin.

Hard

Arriving

Why My Possession Define Me

Adjusting

The Thing About Homesickness

Anchors

I’ve Been to Cities that Never Close Down

It’s Not You, It’s Me

Break on Through

Through The Looking Glass

Forever

Plans vs Choices – A Meditation

SG’s parents are here for the weekend, so shall be back on Sunday with, hopefully, plenty of photos and reports of a little day trip we’re planning on taking (a rather sobering, historical one).

Bis dann!

Image credit