Weiden seems intent on worming its way into my affections. It just gets cuter by the day. It could be the infectious happiness Spring brings with it or it could be that my eyes are now deliberately open and peering about me, intent on juicing this place of all its nutrients. It could be that Weiden truly comes into its own in Spring, with its abundance of lush green trees laden with blossoms and old, vine covered buildings. Or it could be a happy union of infectious Spring, open eyes and Weiden enjoying its prime season – whatever it is, this little town of questionable haircuts and brightly painted buildings has been delivering day after day of sweet surprises.

As it turns out, there is a large park right next door to the Altstadt. In fact all you have to do is turn down any number of charming little side streets and you will arrive at any number of charming little bridges that will take you across a very thin, grassy-banked canal and deposit you in a big, tree-filled, dandelion covered park, complete with a few knolls, a big outdoors chess set and benches for respite. This discovery thrilled me. I love parks. I have a favourite park, a smaller, far more modest one, but I always have room for more favourites. Life should be filled with favourites. This new park is already a favourite. I plan on spending a lot of time in it, with books and coffee and white wine (God I love the German support of outdoors drinking at any time).

Hansel and Gretel, are you in there?

I have officially challenged SG to a game.

Perfect for my picnic blanket.

Another little discovery awaited post-park. In an effort to avoid the Spring Fair madness happening in the town’s centre, we stuck to the side streets, the winding, stone paved paths that would occasionally come to a little quadrangle of benches and blooms. It was sort of like stepping back in time while simultaneously discovering where Weiden’s well-heeled come to roost. The apartment buildings, old and well-kept had discreet doorbells and no graffiti (which seems to blight far too many buildings here). There were restaurants that fronted the park and views of both church spires. It was quiet and old and a whole other side to this little town I just hadn’t yet seen. And I love it. It felt like what the Weiden of centuries past would have been like, when the huge-hardware-and-outlet-store-filled-surrounds would have been precisely what this town was named for – pastures.

We started here and turned left, away from cars and people and market stands.

A view of both churches.

I will be bringing coffee and books here, mark my words.

So the obvious question is … what else does this town have hiding up its sleeve?