In keeping with the list mania happening over at Trespass, today we’re looking at the Top 3 Films of 2009. Below are my ‘high brow’ choices, but I can tell you now, I probably am better versed in the lower brow this year – I just didn’t sink my teeth into enough of the good ones.

***

Looking back, 2009 hasn’t been a good year for me and film. I seem to have seen a whole lot of shit, excuse my language, and done the old ‘must see …’ with the good ones and never actually seen them. So whilst I can say I heartily enjoyed The Hangover, Fired Up and Harry Potter, I didn’t get around to seeing Moon or Samson and Delilah. Shame on me.

But, of the higher brow films I did see, here are my picks …

3. Inglourious Basterds  (Quentin Tarantino, USA)

Weirdly, this wouldn’t be a film I’d list as a favourite – but it’s hard to go past the almost perfect opening scene that was so tense I didn’t let go of my arm rest for the duration. The film as a whole is imperfect but worth seeing for Christopher Waltz and Melanie Laurent.

2. Bright Star (Jane Campion, Australia)

Stunning – in cinematography, in the understated performances of the cast and in the, at times sparse and a wee bit slow, screenplay. Abbie Cornish is everything she has been touted as for years.

1. An Education (Lone Scherfig, UK)

A tremendous film. Hornby’s screenplay was a lesson in subtlety and wit and the performance turned in by Carey Mulligan was nothing short of a major arrival on the cinematic stage. A film to watch and then watch again, enjoying every finely crafted moment.

Oh and an honourable mention must go to Genova which was a lovely study of grief, set against the seductive streets of Genoa.