I’m going to let Christmas come and go before I started contemplating the end of 2009 and the dawning of, oh so hopefully, a new age. But over on Trespass today, we’ve collated some of the team’s favourite albums of the past decade and I thought I’d share mine. I cheated – added a couple down the bottom and sat on the fence a touch – because it’s a hideously difficult task (and I have a dreadful memory). But here are three albums that have had an enormous impact on me.

***

Taken from Trespass Magazine 24/12/09

This is an entirely unfair task, so I’m going to be a bit of a cop out and say here are three OF my top albums of the decade. A decade ago I was fourteen, and although music had always been an intrinsic part of my growing up, I was beginning to make my own choices in music (some inexplicable, many questionable) and truly enjoy the role it played in both creativity and emotion. Some cracking albums have come out over the past decade and to choose just three is sacrilegious. Not one to shy away from sacrilege, I’ve chosen three regardless, but know they are three of many and in no particular order and probably tomorrow my top three would be completely different.

Top 3 Albums of the Decade

John Mayer – Room for Squares

How can you go past this guy’s debut? I remember way back in 2000/early 2001, a Canadian friend of mine emailed me about an ‘amazing’ gig he’d been to, of a ‘little known American musician’ … who turned out to be one of the most influential of his generation. A truly brilliant album.

Maria Mena – Cause & Effect

This album from Norwegian songbird Maria Mena, had an enormous effect on me this year during one of my more intense periods of writing. Her melodies and iron-fist-in-a-velvet-glove vocals make her one of my favourite singer-songwriters out there and this album gets better with every track.

Paolo Nutini – These Streets

Like Room for Squares, These Streets was one of ‘those debuts’ – when a new artist with nothing to lose or prove puts their heart and soul into an album and produces track after track of beauty. It’s a stunning album, not to be glossed over for the overplayed Last Request, but to be enjoyed in quiet with just your thoughts and some wine.

Notable mentions (I know, it’s cheating)

Amy Winehouse – Back to Black, Robyn – Robyn, Britney Spears – Britney